• Coloring Pages
  • Story
  • Worksheets

The National Emblem

The National Emblem of India is a replica of the Lion Captial of Ashoka at Sarnath, near Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh. The National Emblem is the symbol of contemporary India's reaffirmation of its ancient commitment to world peace and good will.
The four lions (one hidden from view), symbolising power, courage and confidence, rest on a circular abacus. The abacus is girded by four smaller animals, that are considered guardians of the four directions: the lion of the north, the elephant of the east, the horse of the south and the bull of the west. The motto Satyameva Jayate inscribed below the emblem in Devanagari script means 'truth alone triumphs'.
It was adopted on 26 January 1950, the day that India became a Republic.

Copyright © 2024

Powered by Webdaksh Technologies